About LILT
Founded in 1980 
The Secret of Success is Constancy of Purpose   
Benjamin Disraeli (1804-1881)
LILT was organized by a group of dedicated educators who recognized their obligation to professional growth, and their responsibility to successfully service and educate their students. They were equally united in their commitment to promote and advance the positive image and viable position of second language instruction on Long Island and in New York State. 
LILT provides: 
  • A forum for ongoing communication and exchange of ideas in foreign language education
  • Opportunities for professional development
  • Direction and leadership on local, state and national issues regarding standards for second language instruction and acquisition
  • Leadership in the development, innovation, and implementation of curricula and programs
  • Sponsorship of regional events and programs which promote teacher/student participation and excellence
LILT is approved by the New York State Education Department (NYSED) as a sponsor of Continuing Teacher and Leader Education (CTLE). The approval is pursuant to section 80-6 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education. Attendance at our LILT General Membership Meetings, LILT Annual Conference, and LILT Professional Development Workshops can count towards satisfying the required 100 hours of Professional Development every five years.
LILT Presidents
May 1980: General meeting of concerned foreign language teachers called by Frank Marino and Dr. Joseph Tursi, Sr.
May 1980 to May 12, 1981: Steering Committee, Lucille Lambert and Richard Gentile
November 1980: LILT organizational meeting
May 12, 1981: First LILT Presidency begins under Lucille Lambert

Terms of office are from the May or June LILT Spring General Membership Meeting until the next LILT Spring General Membership Meeting 2 years later.
1981-1983: Lucille Lambert
1983-1984: Karen Bennett
1984-1986: Richard Gentile
1986-1988: Ann Henry
1988-1990: Adrienne Greenbaum
1990-1992: Elaine Margarita-Buckley
1992-1994: Marie Brett
1994-1996: Marie Guillet
1996-1998: Joan Militscher
1998-2000: Dr. Grace Mannino
2000-2002: Ana Aguiar-Mady
2002-2004: Ron Taub
2004-2006: Nancy Russo-Rumore
2006-2008: Adrienne Greenbaum
2008-2010: Nancy Russo-Rumore
2010-2012: Michele Ortiz
2012-2014: Anahí Walton-Schafer
2014-2015 (hiatus year): Richard Gentile
2015-2017: Ana Aguiar-Mady
2017-2018: Anahí Walton-Schafer
2018 - 2019 (interim): Donna DiNatale
2019 - 2021: Donna DiNatale
2021 - 2023: JoAnne Orlando